High school softball postseason awards revealed

A number of names from Cheyenne and Casper received postseason recognition from the first-ever high school softball season. The list included a handful of former Wyoming News Now Prep Athletes of the Week, too.
Updated: May. 31, 2021 at 10:27 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

CASPER, Wyo. (Wyoming News Now) - The first-ever high school softball postseason awards were announced last week. The season came to a close after Campbell County knocked off Cheyenne Central in the championship game at the Energy Capital Sports Complex in Gillette.

Eight girls from Cheyenne high schools earned first team all-state honors. Runner-up Central led the way with four girls making the first team.

Former Prep Athlete of the Week Brogan Allen cracked the first team along with her teammates Jayden Gashler, Taylor Gebhart and Alexis Naughton. Central’s Kaitlyn Ackerman was on the second team.

A pair of former Prep Athletes of the Week from East, Ariana Galicia and Trista Stehwien, also earned first team honors. East’s Gracie Oswald and South’s Michaela Moorhouse rounded out the first team representatives from Cheyenne.

Casper’s high schools also had a strong contingent, including three on the first team. Kelly Walsh’s Kynlee Griffith and Brooke Lijewski were joined by Natrona County’s Ashlynn Attaway on the first team.

Kelly Walsh’s Lizzy Oldfather, Arianah Plorin and Sophia Wood made the second team along with Natrona County’s Maggie Teague.

Congratulations to all of these girls on their accomplishments during the first-ever Wyoming high school softball season.

Copyright 2021 Wyoming News Now. All rights reserved.